Sycip Salazar Hernandez & Gatmaitan was crowned as the Philippine Law Firm of the Year at the 2017 edition of the ALB Philippine Law Awards, snapping up the biggest prize of the yearly event. The firm also won in the Arbitration Law Firm of the Year, Banking and Financial Services Law Firm of the Year, and Construction and Real Estate Law Firm of the Year categories, while one of its partners, Emmanuel M. Lombos, was named as Dispute Resolution Lawyer of the Year.

Held on October 6 at the Makati Shangri-La, the PLA – now on its second year – is a tribute to outstanding private practitioners and in-house teams that have significantly contributed to the country’s legal sector. The awarding ceremony was graced by guest of honour Perry L. Pe, the incoming president of the Inter-Pacific Bar Association (IPBA). 

Angara Abello Concepcion Regala & Cruz (ACCRALAW) also picked up four awards: Labor and Employment Law Firm of the Year and Litigation Law Firm of the Year as well as Dealmaker of the Year and Managing Partner of the Year for Francisco Ed. Lim and Emerico O. De Guzman, respectively.

In addition, Allen & Overy emerged as the International Deal Firm of the Year for a second year in a row.

On the in-house side, Aboitiz Equity Ventures was declared as the Philippine In-House Team of the Year while Ayala Group, Sun Life of Canada (Philippines) and Accenture were also lauded.

In the individual categories, the Young Lawyer of the Year category had two winners: Katrina V. Doble from Villaraza & Angangco and Cyril Alfred S. Castro from Lazada E-Services Philippines. Meanwhile, Regina Jacinto-Barrientos from Puyat Jacinto & Santos was hailed as the Woman Lawyer of the Year. 

The complete list of winners can be found HERE.