39 ASIAN LEGAL BUSINESS – JANUARY-FEBRUARY 2024 WWW.LEGALBUSINESSONLINE.COM ALB PHILIPPINE LAW AWARDS 2023 would not have been possible without their unwavering support and commitment to excellence,” said Tankiang. The Data Privacy and Protection Lawyer of the Year award was given to Anthony Edsel C. F. Tupaz from Gorriceta Africa Cauton & Saavedra, senior partner and the head of firm’s data privacy, cybersecurity, and artificial intelligence initiatives. “This award underscores the importance of safeguarding data privacy rights in an accelerating digital age,” said Tupaz. His Gorriceta colleague Kristine T. Torres received the Young Lawyer of the Year award. “I’m immensely grateful and honoured to receive this award. It holds a special place in my heart since it represents a recognition of the hard work, dedication, and passion that I have poured into my craft and expertise as a corporate M&A lawyer,” she noted. Allen & Overy received the International Law Firm of the Year award. Giancarlo Sambalido, the firm’s co-head for the Philippines, commented: “This award reflects our commitment to delivering innovative, high-quality, and client-focused legal solutions in a dynamic and competitive market. We thank our clients for their trust and support.” Meanwhile Poblador Bautista & Reyes Law Offices won both the Dispute Resolution Law Firm of the Year award and the Arbitration Law Firm of the Year award. “These two awards are a collective recognition that our efforts have been successful. We thank our lawyers and staff for working tirelessly day in and day out, and our clients for putting their trust and faith in us,” said founding partner Alexander J. Poblador. Del Rosario & Del Rosario Law Offices earned the Labor and Employment Law Firm of the Year award. “Our motto of Integrity, Quality, and Efficiency reflects our team’s values and guides us in our work and commitment to our valued clients,” said senior partner Joseph Rebano. The Private Equity and Venture Capital Law Firm of the Year award went to VAL Law. The award “is a testament to our team’s dedication and the unwavering trust bestowed upon us by our clients. These accolades fuel our passion for excellence and client success,” said founding partner Timothy Joseph N. Lumauig. VeraLaw received the Transportation and Logistics Law Firm of the Year award. “If I were to attribute one factor for the success of VeraLaw in this practice area, I would say: a stable team of talented and dedicated lawyers gives us an edge,” said managing partner Valeriano Del Rosario. Boutique Law Firm of the Year Abo and Peñaranda Law Firm Litigation Law Firm of the Year Cruz Marcelo & Tenefrancia Managing Partner of the Year Sylvette Y. Tankiang - Villaraza & Angangco Woman Lawyer of the Year Divina Pastora Ilas-Panganiban - Quisumbing Torres