Allen & Gledhill and Allen & Overy picked up some of the biggest awards at the ALB SE Asia Law Awards 2018. The Singapore firm won six awards, including the coveted ALB SE Asia Law Firm of the Year award, and the SE Asia Deal Firm of the year, while the UK outfit was named as the International Deal Firm of the Year.

The awards, held on May 10 at Singapore’s Mandarin Oriental, and attended by 300 in-house counsel, private practice lawyers and company executives, saw Oon & Bazul’s Bazul Ashhab being named Singapore Managing Partner of the Year.

Other winners of individual categories included Rajiv Gupta of Latham & Watkins (Dealmaker of the Year), Iqbal Darmawan of Hadiputranto, Hadinoto & Partners (Young Lawyer of the Year), Shirin Tang of Morrison & Foerster (Woman Lawyer of the Year) and Chau Huy Quang of Rajah & Tann LCT (Regional Managing Partner of the Year).

Drew & Napier was named both Singapore Litigation Law Firm of the Year and Regional Litigation Law Firm of the Year, while Davinder Singh SC, the firm’s executive chairman, won Dispute Resolution Lawyer of the Year. Herbert Smith Freehills won the Law in Order Award International Arbitration Law Firm of the Year.

Among the in-house categories, Christopher Stephens of Asian Development Bank won  In-House Lawyer of the Year. ADB also picked up two other big awards - Banking and Financial Services In-House Team of the Year and Withers KhattarWong Award SE Asia In-House Team of the Year.

Sponsors of the ALB Southeast Asia Law Awards included Law in Order and Withers KhattarWong, while associate sponsors included Nardello & Co. and Pure Search.

To see the full list and photos of the winners, please click HERE.