The inaugural ALB Women In Law Awards, a virtual event held on Dec. 15, was a grand success, recognising the exceptional performance of women in law firms and in-house teams in the region.

Allen & Overy won four awards on that night, with Sheila Ahuja picking up Arbitration Lawyer of the Year, SE Asia: Holly Hart winning Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year; Vicki Liu claiming Managing Partner of the Year; and the firm being named Diversity and Inclusion Law Firm of the Year.

Meanwhile, WongPartnership, Hogan Lovells and ZeLo won two titles a piece. WongPartnership was awarded Dealmaker of the Year, SE Asia for Christy Lim; and Private Practitioner of the Year, SE Asia for Joy Tan; while ZeLo’s Fiesta Victoria and Chika Minami were named Business Development Lawyer of the Year and Innovator of the Year, respectively.

Yolanda Lau of Hogan Lovells clinched the title of Rising Star of the Year, North Asia, while Hogan Lovells Horitsu Jimusho Gaikokuho Kyodo Jigyo’s Jacky Scanlan Dyas was named Women’s Advocate of the Year.

Among other awards, Niloufer Lam of ZBA was awarded Dealmaker of the Year, India and Middle East; and Asa Shinkawa of Nishimura & Asahi was named Dealmaker of the Year, North Asia.

Meanwhile, King & Wood Mallesons’ Joanne Strain was the Litigator of the Year, India and Middle East; while Stephenson Harwood’s Elizabeth Sloane and Blossom Hing of Drew and Napier were awarded Litigator of the Year, North Asia and SE Asia, respectively.

The title of Private Practitioner of the Year, India and Middle East was shared by Afridi & Angell’s Danielle Lobo and Nisha Kaur Uberoi; while Gabriela Kennedy of Mayer Brown picked up the Private Practitioner of the Year, North Asia award.

Khaitan & Co, meanwhile, won Diversity and Inclusion Project of the Year for the project ‘She Breaks the Law Collaboration.’

In the in-house categories, Accenture’s Millicent Joie L. Desiderio-Dime was named General Counsel of the Year, while Michelle Hung of COSCO Shipping Ports received the In-House Lawyer of the Year title.


To contact the editorial team, please email